Total Net Worth


I have been having some issues with the bank that I do business with over the past couple of months.  I ordered a debit card more then three months ago and for some reason they have not been able to have it delivered.  Needless to say this has been a pretty big source of aggravation, not the least of that aggravation coming from the fact that I have had to visit the bank three times to try to sort the whole issue out.  Today I took one of those visits in an attempt to locate the missing card.  The end result was not good.  To make a long story short I walked out of the bank with out a card, again.

While I was working with the teller to try to figure out the whereabouts of the elusive card I found out something about myself that I was not aware of until that moment.  As I was looking over the shoulder of the employee who was looking up my account profile I noticed a disturbing fact.  According to the banking system of America I have a net worth of negative $800. At the risk of sounding emo, I have to say, that is quite depressing to me.  If we really take that whole concept back to it’s logical conclusion it means that according to this bank I am quite literally worth more dead than alive at this point in my life.  Now, don’t worry this is not some desperate plea for attention.  I am not contemplating taking my life nor do I actually believe that my entire worth as a person can be summed up on the computer screen of a grossly incompetent bank ( I’m still a little bitter about the card).

The vist to the bank today was really a stark reminder to myself of how the world views the worth of a person.  On the way home in my car I began to think about how I view and evaluate the worth of a person.  I won’t go into all the dark gory details that went through my head, but needless to say I have some work to do.  I have to be honest, I believe if a lot of people were able to look over my shoulder and see the the profile I have of them…let’s just say they would probably be walking away from me feeling just about the same way as I do about a certain bank.

How about you?  How do you honestly evaluate the worth of the people you come in contact with on daily basis?

About jondrms

Hoping to finish well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

