4 Reasons Why Arguing over Social Networking is Stupid.


Taking your own advice is a pretty hard pill to swallow.  If I suffer from anything I suffer from the annoying sin of giving what I believe is great advice to other people but not being that great at listening to it myself.  This seems to be a pretty big trend among people in the ministry as a profession community.  I am sure there are many reasons for it, but I’m really here to get into all of those reasons, although I am toying with the idea of making that the subject of my next few posts.

I bring this up because I was guilty of it in a big way yesterday evening.  Yesterday afternoon I posted an article concerning the major outpouring of opinions involving the death and reaction to the death of Osama Bin Laden.  You can read that article here.  To sum it up I basically came to the conclusion that we tread into dangerous territory when we presume to throw on to  other people our opinions about how they should feel and how God feels about what happened.

That all sounded good until I did completely the opposite of what I said.  Yesterday evening I found myself heartily arguing my opinion on the matter over social network simply because I did not agree with another person’s opinion.

It was stupid.

It was stupid because the whole point of the exercise was not to bring honor and glory to God it was to bring honor and glory to myself and my opinion.  I did learn some lessons from it though and I want to share them.

 1) It is cowardly. 

There is a real danger that comes from hiding behind the computer screen when you are trying to get someone to see the truth.  A good rule of thumb is, if you would not say it in a certain way or certain tone to their face, it does not need to be said that way over the internet.

2) It does not change anyone’s mind.

It’s time to be honest.  We argue over social networking because there is a high that comes from it, not because we think it will persuade anyone to see our point of view.  Want proof?  Try this next time you’re in one of these arguments, say the phrase, “You know I think you’re right.”  Watch how quickly the conversation ends, and how quickly that person moves on to arguing with someone else.

3) It’s Unbiblical.

Check out Matthew 18:15-20.  That pretty much sums it up better than I can.

4) It shows we really do have way too much time on our hands.

You know what was going on while I was wasting my time arguing last night?  My son was getting a bath and getting ready for bed,  my wife wanted to spend time with me, and the dishes needed to be doneI missed all of that because I was too preoccupied with being right.  Going to go out on a limb and say that was not very God honoring.

So let me apologize number one for being a hypocrite and not taking my advice to pray long, pray hard, and then be quiet.  Also let me apologize for being self-seeking instead of God honoring.

Why do you think arguing over social networking is stupid?

About jondrms

Hoping to finish well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

