Turtles and Church Tradition.


I’m pretty mad right now.  I’m pretty sure that I am not the only one either.  Have you guys heard what Michael Bay is doing to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles?!  No…oh, well click here, read the article and then come back.

OK are you mad now?  Good.  Now let’s pause for a moment and ask a really simple question.

Why does this make so many of us so mad?

I can’t speak for you, but I can speak for me.  It makes me mad because Michael Bay is messing with my childhood.

I grew up with the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I owned the action figures, I pretended to be them on the play ground (Leonardo of course), and I wore the t-shirts.  The tradition of their story is simple and sacred to me.

Dropped in a sewer.

Got into some toxic ooze.

Learned Karate from a giant rat.

They fight The Shredder and eat pizza.

That’s the story, period.

There is a certain story line that you NEED to stick to if you are going to create a movie about them.  If you deviate from that story, you are perverting my childhood memories.

If you are from my generation this is not something you mess with.

If you are from my generation, the next time you are having a hard time understanding why older folks in your congregation get angry when you want to change a tradition. Keep this in mind.

The nature of their story is simple and sacred to them, so tread carefully.

About jondrms

Hoping to finish well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turtles and Church Tradition.

  1. As if Transformers wasn’t enough for him.

Leave a Reply

