Be Good Vs. I love you


My child is going through what you might call “the terrible twos.”  I have to admit, I used to think this stage of life was a myth.  I am quickly discovering that a lot of my assumptions about kids before I had kids follow the principle of an assumption.  I’ll leave it at that.

It’s fair to say that my child’s acting up is causing a good bit of tension in the Thayer household.  Every night and every morning I pray with Jude that he will be “a good boy” and “listen to the baby sitter and mommy and daddy.”  This is a good thing.  I think it is appropriate to raise a child to listen and behave but, I discovered something about myself when I dropped him off this morning.

I say be good, before I say I love you. 

Now this may seem like a little thing but, to me I think it’s pretty paramount.

This one action says a lot about who I am, and how I  view my heavenly father.

It’s easy to forget that with God the “I love you” came before the “Be Good.”

It should be the same with us.

About jondrms

Hoping to finish well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Good Vs. I love you

  1. Evelyn says:

    Great post! Something we should all think about as we raise our littles.

    Oh, and get ready for the torrential 3’s… so far 3 is FAR WORSE than 2 was.
    (and that was true for my daycare kids when I was an assistant director for a daycare)

Leave a Reply

