An Open Door is Creepy


My oldest son has a real problem with open doors.  He  can’t stand to be in a room with a door open.  He will scream and cry and beg until the door is shut, and then he will go about his business.

I know it’s weird.  There is probably some deep-rooted issue that we will have to shell out a lot of money for therapy later in life.  I have to keep reminding myself that he is only two, and well, all two-year olds are weird.

The more I think about it though, the more I realize that it’s  a pretty legitimate phobia.

Open doors are creepy.

Don’t believe me?  Try sleeping with your bed room door open tonight.  Take a shower with the bathroom door open, or wash the dishes with your back to an open door that leads outside.

There is something about not knowing what is on the other side of the door that makes us uneasy.  We want our world contained, locked down, and safe.

I don’t know if this is a learned fear or just a natural human tendency, all I know is that it starts early.

Open doors are creepy, I think that’s what makes me so anxious when God wants me to walk through one.

About jondrms

Hoping to finish well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

