Stop Saying These Things.


I do a lot of driving in my life now.  Because I drive so much I spend a lot of time listening to the radio.  I’m too cheap to buy music.  I’m also not a huge fan of a lot of stuff I hear on the radio ( but yes I do stop at the Nikki Minaj songs just like you so stop judging me).

A lot of the time I find myself listening to preachers on the radio.  Contrary to popular belief some of them actually have insightful things to say.  Every so often though I hear one that makes me want to pray for the Holy Spirit to smack them in the face through the radio.  I understand that this is an anger issue on my part.  Thank God for Sanctification.  In the mean time though this is my desire.

The preacher said and I quote, “There is no such thing as a depressed Christian.  If you have the Holy Spirit in your life it should not matter what comes your way you should never find yourself in even a season of depression.  There is no room for this in your soul.”  He then proceeded to tell the story of how he  lost his wife of 40 years and never grieved a day.  I’m pretty sure counselors would have a field day with this guy

I understand what he was going for, but this statement really struck a chord with me.

The depression of the saints has really been on my heart lately.  I have a hard time remedying statements like the one above, and hearing the same statements from some ministers growing up with the men I find in the Bible.

The prime example of course is David, but I think of Elijah, Jeremiah, Solomon, pretty much all the O.T. prophets and even the Apostle Paul.  This is not an exhaustive list by any means it does not even include modern-day titans of the faith like Charles Spurgeon, who was very vocal about his depression, and C.S. Lewis.

What’s my point?  It’s time to give Christians permission to be human.  If we have a problem with that we have a problem with the Bible.

I do not think that most Christians mean to be ignorant when it comes to the issue of a hurt soul.  I just don’t think we know how to deal with it.  I came across a resource that might help with that.  It was a list of 104 things NOT to say to someone who shares with you that they struggle with feelings of depression.  I have whittled them down to 10.  Hope you find them as helpful as I have.

1) No one ever said life is fair.

2) There are a lot of people worse off than you.

3) You are what you think.

4) Have you been praying/reading your Bible?

5) You’ll be a better person because of it.

6) If you trust God, you won’t have to take that medicine.

7) You can make the choice for depression and its effects, or against depression, it’s all in YOUR hands.

8) That which does not kill us will make us stronger.

9) Go help someone else, then you won’t have to brood.

10) Well, we all have our cross to bear.

About jondrms

Hoping to finish well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

