Drip


I try to scrub clean drip by drip, but the stain’s as stubborn as ever.

I pray to the faucet, but it just won’t run.

They say, ” Pray the right words and maybe you’ll turn him on.”

Never been great at talking about mess, so I sit there silent, drips drying into regrets.

The man who talks to the faucet gives me three easy steps.

  1. Turn the handle.
  2. Stand under the water and scrub away stain.
  3. Put some money in the offering plate on your way out.

Cooling my tongue drip by drip, wondering why a faucet requires a daily quip.

The lady who talks to my brain gives me three easy steps.

  1. Take this pill.
  2. Stop being thirsty.
  3. Put some money in the offering plate on your way out.

Maybe you’re not a faucet. Maybe you’re a well.

Maybe you don’t need turned on. Maybe you need drawn from.

 

About jondrms

Hoping to finish well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

